Der Salon

Repeats every month on the third Wednesday 12 times .
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 7:00pm


Are you an advanced German speaker? Do you enjoy participating in self-guided discussions about topics of your choice? If so, consider joining us for Der Salon.

Der Salon aims at fostering German speaking skills through discussions about books, articles, and music, among other topics. Modeled on the European tradition of intellectual discourse in semi-private settings, as demonstrated in particular by the Berlin Salons of the nineteenth century, the meetings are intended not only to enable speakers to develop a more comprehensive German vocabulary, but also to generate ideas about various topics that pertain to the theme chosen by the participants and lend themselves to discussion within the group.

Advanced language learners (minimum B1/B2 level of language proficiency) are invited to participate as are native speakers. Discussions will take place on the 3rd Wednesday of each month from 7-9 pm, either at the University of Dallas or the private residence of a Dallas Goethe Center member.

We hope you can join us. Please contact Linda McDonald to let her know that you are interested and to learn more. Just email her HERE.


Event type: